NONPF Nominating Committee
Share |

NONPF's Annual Nominating Committee is responsible for preparing an annual slate of nominees for the NONPF election, as well as overseeing the annual election itself. Key activities include:

  • Developing candidate eligibility criteria;
  • Identifying candidates & soliciting nominations for Board vacancies;
  • Overseeing the election process

The Nominating Committee is composed of four persons elected by the membership for a term of two years with two members being elected each year. The member with the highest votes will be chair of the committee in the second year of her/his term.

Please see below for the 2018/19 NONPF Nominating Committee.


Robin Arends  - Chair (2017-2019)

Dr. Robin Arends is a Clinical Assistant Professor at South Dakota State University. Dr. Arends obtained her MS as a Family Nurse Practitioner and her Doctor of Nursing Practice from South Dakota State University. She has worked as a Family Nurse Practitioner at Falls Community Health serving low-income, homeless, and refugee populations. She now provides nurse practitioner care to Long Term Care residents through Telehealth Modalities. In her faculty role, Dr. Arends serves at the DNP Specialization Coordinator and APRN Curriculum Coordinator. She teaches in the Family Nurse Practitioner courses as well the DNP Project courses. Dr. Arends serves on the NONPF Curriculum Committee and is currently on her 2nd year on the Nominating Committee. She is the Project Director for a $1.25 million HRSA grant to enhance the academic-clinical partnership with healthcare systems and educate students and providers in the area of telehealth. Dr. Arends has been a part of the South Dakota APRN Coalition, which lead to successful legislation to remove barriers to practice for nurse practitioners and nurse midwives and improve access to high quality care for the population of South Dakota. Dr. Arends was accepted into the inaugural group for the American Association of Nurse Practitioner Leadership Program and is a Fellow of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners and the American Association of Colleges of Nursing Faculty Policy Intensive.

Karen Hande Chair Elect (2018-2020)

Karen Hande is a DNP perpared adult health board certified nurse practitioner and a certified nurse educator. She earned her BSN from the University of Connecticut in 1999 and was employed as a bone marrow transplant nurse at Brigham and Women’s Hospital in Boston, Massachusetts. Karen furthered her education at Boston College and earned an MSN. Her experience as a nurse practitioner began at Dana Farber Cancer Institute in the hematology outpatient clinic. She continued her practice in adult primary care in outpatient clinics in Connecticut and Tennessee. Her pursuit for a practice doctorate was commenced at Vanderbilt University School of Nursing in 2013. Karen is an associate professor at the Vanderbilt University School of Nursing in the DNP program. She coordinates the DNP integrative application course series. Karen’s primary interest is in guiding students through the DNP project process and improving the student learning environment.  Karen also practices at the Vanderbilt Ingram Cancer Center in the Supportive Care Clinic.

 Jenna Herman (2018-2020)

Dr. Jenna Herman is the Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP) Program Coordinator at the University of Mary located in Bismarck, ND. Dr. Herman also maintains a clinical practice as an NP at a local emergency department of a Level II trauma center and as a locum tenens NP at primary care clinics and hospitals throughout rural North Dakota.  Other professional experiences include her being a featured speaker on state, regional, national, and international levels and several published articles.  Dr. Herman has facilitated and completed medical missions to Ayaviri, Peru since 2015.  In 2017, she received the Legendary Nurse Award for Faculty Achievement.  Participation in the second cohort of the NONPF Leadership Mentorship Program contributed to Dr. Herman being asked to serve as a Co-Leader of the program’s fourth cohort.  Dr. Herman received her Bachelor of Arts Nursing (BAN) from Augustana University, Master of Science Nursing (MSN) from the College of St. Scholastica, and Doctor of Nurse Practice (DNP) from the University of Minnesota.

Elizabeth Teixeira (2018-2020)

Dr. Elizabeth (Betty) Teixeira holds a faculty appointment in the DNP Program at Capella University where she is very involved with mentoring and committee work. Prior to this she was Assistant Professor at The College of New Jersey where she conducted and presented her research in the area of diabetes management with institutional support (SOSA Award). In 2013, during her tenure at LaSalle University, she coordinated the transition of the Adult to the Adult-Gerontology Nurse Practitioner Program and successfully graduated the first class. In 2014, she received recognition as One of Top 15 Adult-Gerontology Professors by Nurse Practitioner Schools. Dr. Teixeira has over 20 years of experience in primary care as an advanced practice nurse, diabetes educator, and preceptor while maintaining certifications as an Adult-Gerontology Primary Care NP, Gerontological NP and Diabetes Educator. She continues to practice in the community making site visits to Medicare clients in their homes or facilities. Dr. Teixeira has an established record of involvement in graduate education, online education, and forward thinking to achieve excellence as well as maintains active membership in NONPF since 2010. 

Contact Us

National Organization of Nurse Practitioner Faculties
1615 M Street, NW, Ste. 270
Washington, DC 20036
: (202) 289-8044

Connect With Us: